The lady who tried to steal fun

If you’ve read some of my previous posts (for instance teenage mutant ninja blogpost), you’ve noticed that I am quite the proponent of fun in the workplace.  And really, why wouldn’t you want to be encouraging fun in the workplace? It builds morale and helps with employee engagement, retention, and productivity.  So, when a few people in my office decided to play bags at lunch one day, I was all in.

It wasn’t quite as organized as the picture…  There was only one bags set and about six people, but we were determined to catch some rays and enjoy our lunch hour. About 20 minutes into our intense bean action a woman leaned out her window and scolded us “excuse me, could you keep it down?  Some of us are trying to work here.”  I immediately looked at my watch to see that it was 12:22.  Lunch hour on a Friday and people are this upset?  It didn’t make a whole lot of sense to me.

With a slightly dampened spirit, we resolved to continue our game without making too much noise.  What started out as a punishment, turned into a whole new spin on the game – silent bags.  With zealous excitement we finished two more thrilling games.  We pumped our arms, danced around, and taunted each other (all without sound).  As we packed it up and headed inside I couldn’t help but smile.  The lady tried to steal our fun but didn’t succeed.  Whether it is rules, corporate culture, or a crazy lady who really needs to work, how do you succeed at keeping a little fun in your life?

Anyone up for bags?

****Completely ridiculous update****

The woman who chastised us is outside on the lawn with her department.  And they are playing bags.  Oh the irony.

About skallerk

I'm just a person trying to make it through the world and have a darn good time doing it. I enjoy my job working as a trainer in an employee development department and I'm working on a few degrees. Work and school will often be starting points for my posts - but, I live for variety and my passions are boundless. Customer service, leadership, generation y, Colorado, food, friends, family, work and life. I'll write about them all. Feel free to suggest topics or let me know what you think. Hopefully I can entertain, teach, and learn.
This entry was posted in About Me, Inspiration, Play. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment